Two thought provoking things of the day

31 March 2014

Hi. Remember me?

This is the problem with blogging: I love it, and I don’t have time to do it properly (i.e., daily/biweekly). Forgive me for being so AWOL and know well that it’s not because I’m not watching female-oriented film or foaming at the mouth about the bullshit in the media, my university, etc.

But today I have two things for you. First is a lovely, two-minute long thought-piece video on a tic in Wes Anderson’s films. Go here to Vimeo to watch “Wes Anderson | Centered” by Komogado, a video artist who also has a wonderful tribute to Ozu.

And on the subject of Anderson’s Grand Budapest Hotel, I loved loved loved it, even though it’s not really subject matter I typically discuss here (i.e. a film about men. Anderson’s films are always really just about men).

My second link is hard to read because it’s so enraging, but it’s vital. It’s “Dear Harvard: You Win,” a letter to the editor of the Harvard Crimson from a woman sexually assaulted by a friend in her university residence house and abandoned by the university that purports to respond to such abuse.

Only 25 more weeks in April before the semester ends. This is how I comfort myself.

 

14 Responses to “Two thought provoking things of the day”

  1. JustMeMike Says:

    Welcome back – after nearly three dozen days of fruitlessly checking Feminema – at last there’s a new post. Thanks for returning to planet WordPress. Good things come to he who waits.

    jmm

    • Didion Says:

      Argh. So shameful. But I assure you that it’s not that I was lying around in the backyard, eating bonbons. Us professors and our 70-hour work weeks get so overwhelmed that we just can’t find another hour for keeping up online. I’ve missed SO MANY of your posts, JMM… tragic!

  2. Servetus Says:

    Geez, that’s not depressing or anything.

    I just found out that Budapest Hotel is somehow related to one of the top 10 books of the 20th c. (Zweig, World of Yesterday). How did I miss that? I may actually have to see the film. Then again … maybe not.

    • Didion Says:

      I haven’t read any Zweig, but that’s correct about the film (Zweig gets a big shout-out) and it’s wonderful. Really, do what I did: take a couple of bottles of those tiny wines from CVS, sip them surreptitiously during the film, and you’ll enjoy yourself enormously.

      • Servetus Says:

        The only book you *really* need to read is The World of Yesterday, although his other stuff is delightful, too.

      • Didion Says:

        You know what I’m reading right now? Philip Pullman’s Sally Lockhart series. Not nearly as good as the His Dark Materials series, but completely entertaining for my weak brain.

      • Servetus Says:

        I liked those a lot (read years ago) and I think the BBC made a series, too. Totally agree with your assessment. I read 3 crime novels and 12 Years a Slave last week while abed. 12 Years was harrowing. Lately I was reading “Schmidt steps back” by Louis Begley (Henning really likes those novels, this is the first I’ve read). It’s also a novel about a man, but the first half is strangely compelling.

      • Didion Says:

        Yup, that’s what I need to survive all the administrative-think I’ve been spouting lately while on committees. In universities this means using terms like “excellence,” “community engagement,” “global citizenship,” and “cutting-edge research” so much that they wind up meaning nothing.

      • Hattie Says:

        Oh wow! I am reading The World of Yesterday right now! In German. His style is incomparable, so natural and accessible. I’m glad he’s available in English, too. There is a whole side of German culture that was Jewish. To me, he speaks to the present moment.

      • Servetus Says:

        He’s an amazing stylist; his histories are great, too. If you like the memoir quality of that book, do you know Torberg, Tante Jolesch? It’s the same milieu and also a really enjoyable book.

      • Hattie Says:

        The World of Yesterday + a lot of his other work are available on Amazon download for free. What a resource!

  3. Hattie Says:

    I faithfully come over twice a week to see if there is something new here, so was glad to see this. Why is everyone having to work so hard anyway?

  4. Hattie Says:

    Servetus: Thanks for the recommendation.

  5. Becky Says:

    I notice all comments ignore the letter to the Harvard Crimson. Wonder why? Perhaps it is because the letter gave me (and you?) a severe case of conflicting emotions that left me utterly confused. I was enraged at Harvard and at her. I am going to have to think about this for a while and see if I see a way out of the muddle.


Leave a Reply

