Sunday morning vintage sweater love

10 March 2013

529962_10151498261639603_1165635228_n

My partner is always making fun of the fact that every time I flip to Turner Classic Movies, I drool over the clothes. “Ooooh, look at that hat,” I’ll gush out loud. (Hence my little Gravatar portrait, in which I pretend to be Rosalind Russell in His Girl Friday — because those were some clothes!) The two of us differ on the question of whether this attention to great outfits hinders my attention to the plots.

I could probably write 3,000 words about Ginger Rogers’ clothes in her films with Fred Astaire. But can we just note this sweater-dress? Relevant note: this is from Carefree (1938), and this unsubtle design undergirds the film’s plot about psychoanalysis. See how this works? The sweater is sending Fred subconscious messages about falling in love with his patient! Sure, he may be hypnotizing her, but just wait till he’s smitten!

carefree

Now, friends, please don’t tell me I could make such a sweater myself. That is so not going to happen. Let me just enjoy the sweet vintage-ness of this sweater-dress in its pure Ginger condition.

3 Responses to “Sunday morning vintage sweater love”


  1. I have to say that I have always loved your gravatar with you looking like Rosalind Russell. I, too, share your fondness for the styles of years gone by.

    • Didion Says:

      RR is the perfect embodiment of wry, whipcracking repartee and great clothes. No one ever gave Cary Grant as much verbal whip-ass as our Roz. A woman after my own heart!


      • I wholly agree. RR has always been one of my favorites. I am hard pressed to think of an actress who is similar to Russell–strong and always her own woman,without taking away from anyone else’ character.


Leave a Reply

