God’s will and your body, Indiana version

24 October 2012

Lord knows I, as much as the next girl, love being told by white male politicians what God wants for me. It just gets so confusing for my lady brain when they disagree.

So let me fire this one at Richard Mourdock, the Republican candidate for Senate from Indiana, who explained in Monday night’s televised debate that he opposes abortion for women who’ve been impregnated by their rapists because God “intended” it to happen.

Hang on, so God wants me to be raped? and to serve as empty vessel for the rapist’s spawn?

“The only exception I have to have an abortion is in the case of the life of the mother,” said Mourdock, the Tea Party-backed candidate who knocked Sen. Richard Lugar (R) out of the race at the primary stage. “I struggled with it myself for a long time, but I came to realize life is that gift from God. I think that even when life begins in that horrible situation of rape, that it is something that God intended to happen.”

Don’t you wish that you, too, knew what God wanted? Perhaps it’s only women who are suckers enough to believe in all that “working in mysterious ways” stuff.

Mourdock’s opponents jumped on his statement immediately (they are both rabidly anti-abortion, yet allow for exceptions). “The God I believe in and the God I know most Hoosiers believe in, does not intend for rape to happen – ever,” said Mourdock’s Democratic opponent, Joe Donnelly. “What Mr. Mourdock said is shocking, and it is stunning that he would be so disrespectful to survivors of rape.”

Whoa! whiplash! I have a question, sir: Does God want me to be raped or not? Dammit all, how can there be such confusion on this issue? And can someone tell me how anybody knows what God’s will is?

Other questions arise. If God is involved to this extent, why don’t we tell people that God wants a criminal to invade their homes and hold them hostage just for kicks? Does God want all those other rape victims to be murdered and left in shallow graves?

Yup, that’s right, ladies: we just have to lie back and take all this information about God’s will over our bodies. ‘Cuz lord knows He only talks to politicians.

7 Responses to “God’s will and your body, Indiana version”


  1. I just finished typing this week’s BWA on this piece of misogynistic hell! Our minds are as one, Didion. 🙂


  2. This is not the future many of us imagined in the 1970s women’s movement. Mayors against Illegal Guns reminder in my inbox that October is Domestic Violence Awareness month. Of course, Mourdock et al would see this as another example of god’s will.

  3. JustMeMike Says:

    If Mourdock loses his election maybe God will tell him that politics wasn’t in His plans for Mourdock. “I never intended for you to succeed in politics.”

    He should step out of the political arena and leave forever any thought of public speaking henceforth..

    Of course, that is Wishful Thinking on my part..

    jmm

  4. Servetus Says:

    You know I’m going to say this, right? 🙂

    Theologically this guy is all over the place. This is absolute heresy, even for churches w/o a magisterium. No matter where you are on the predestination scale, G-d cannot be the author of evil.

    Stuff like this can be said in the name of Christianity only in the USA where popular sovereignty has gone amuck and every Protestant who’s read one sentence of the Bible can decide s/he’s an exegete …


  5. […] as it is for me to get sucked into that conversation, like I did the other day, the real problem is that they’ve succeeded — they’ve skewed the conversation […]


Leave a Reply

