Ruth Gordon’s knowing look

16 October 2012

Don’t you wish this was your best friend? That slight smirk, which revealed maybe a little self-deprecation in with its pragmatism. I can’t see this face without seeing the woman in Rosemary’s Baby and Harold and Maude — because, you know, sometimes a face is perfect all the way from youth to seniority. Ruth, R.I.P.

3 Responses to “Ruth Gordon’s knowing look”


  1. I so loved our Ruth. I know this is cheesy, but she also starred on Rhoda as Carlton the Doorman’s mother.

  2. JustMeMike Says:

    Literally a first for me – while I know that everyone we met when they were old were once young – I never saw the younger Ruth Gordon.

    Why were you looking for her.?

    PS: Arrived in Paris today.

    • Didion Says:

      Damn you, JMM! Paris!?! And I’m grading a pile of papers?

      Isn’t this a great photo? I got it from my friends over at If Charlie Parker was a Gunslinger, There’d Be a Whole Lot of Dead Copycats. Every once in a while they post something that just sings to me.


Leave a Reply

