Electra Woman Wednesday

1 August 2012

I am moving house, and there’s nothing much to say about it except I reckon this is the 6th big interstate household move I’ve made (and probably 6 more temporary/ year-long moves to take fellowships).

Honestly: I feel overwhelmed with gratitude because moving isn’t stressful anymore in the way other life events cause stress. But I do feel the need for distraction. Thus, the opening sequence for the 1976 show, Electra Woman and Dyna Girl!

I don’t remember this series at all; it was a 12-minute part of The Krofft Supershow and featured these Diedre Hall and Judy Strangis as magazine writers by day, caped crusaders in a crisis. And check out those Electra-Coms on their wrists.

I love the low budget costumes, the Wonder Woman ripoff, the way all their gadgets begin with “electra”: the Electra-Change, which allows our heroes to change clothes instantly (handy!); the Electra-Strobe, which speeds up their thoughts to 1000 times normal (handy again!); the Electra-Vibe, which “creates a localized sonic field that can shatter glass or disorient an opponent who is not equipped with earplugs”; and the Electra-Degravitate, which performs the obvious. There are many more.

Which reminds me to dream of the Electra-Transport, which moves your entire house instantly and without the use of boxes, movers, and packing tape. But in the meantime, it’s back to the boxes for me.

6 Responses to “Electra Woman Wednesday”

  1. Dark Iris Says:

    Oh, I remember this show! Now I have that catchy title song in my head. I also used to watch Isis (which was paired with Shazaam)–yep, she was a goddess superhero! Dear Didion, when you dredge up these glorious things from my childhood, it makes perfect sense how I came to be this way. Good luck with your move. If it could only be this easy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gD8Fkgt7TI

    • Didion Says:

      I loved Isis. I’ve really got to find episodes because I seem to remember playing our own version of Isis in the back yard every Saturday.

      I’ve been singing the Electra Woman theme song all morning.

  2. JE Says:

    I have to say that without an explanation, “Electra-Vibe” brings up all sorts of other possibilities. Well, one possibility, mostly.

    There is also a need for the Electra-Beer, to replace that six-pack that didn’t quite fit into the car on the final leg of the move.

    • Didion Says:

      Yeah, I really could have used an Electra-Vibe at key moments while talking on the phone to salesmen-type contacts for various moving companies. Actually, I could use an Electra-Vibe right now.

  3. servetus Says:

    I remember these really vividly. Also Shazam, The Shrinkies, etc.

  4. JSA Lowe Says:

    Another Isis/ElectraWoman lover. Also Jaime Sommers, the Bionic Woman! The 70s had awesomely bad feminist/”feminist” TV.

    Really just chiming in here to say, I hope your move has gone/is going well. Always pack the tea last, and unpack it first! And the cat food.


Leave a Reply

