Science: it’s a girl thing!

23 June 2012

Apparently I’m the very last person to become aware of this video, which was produced by the European Commission.

I don’t know what to say. Except the obvious: if I were commissioned to create a spoof video to encourage girls to enter STEM fields, this is exactly what I’d come up with.

So congratulations, European Commission, on creating the cleverest spoof ever! Sure makes the efforts of Jen and her compatriots to dismantle the “girls just aren’t good with science and math” myth look crazy serious, which is very unfeminine.

Also, I’d like to know exactly what that creepy blue makeup powder is supposed to be. Is that supposed to represent an achievement in scientific research by girls?

7 Responses to “Science: it’s a girl thing!”


  1. Didion,
    For some reason the video is not playing for me, but I like your analysis.

    • Didion Says:

      Michael, my bad for not checking to see that the link was working. It’s working now!


      • Thank you for fixing the video. I fear I have to be far less generous than you, as usual–you are a much kinder person than I. This video is nothing less than tragic! Impressive how one can turn an attempt at empowering into something so very sexist and misogynistic.

      • Didion Says:

        I know! it’s so bad it’s downright unbelievable. I mean — much like the presidential campaign of Herman Cain — there is no measurable difference between this video that claims to be seriously advocating for girls to enter STEM fields, and a spoof of a video that claims to advocate for girls to enter STEM fields. It’s like my brain is turning around in circles.

    • Didion Says:

      I read a satisfyingly outraged piece on this over at Tiger Beatdown, which listed a few hilarious responses on Twitter. My favorite: “Page 3 model in lab coat drops beaker of small pox but IT’S OK COZ TOM SAID I HAD NICE EYES!”


Leave a Reply

