And on another note: feminista stylin’

3 June 2012

I like everything about this dress, from the bold turquoise to the DIY woodblock pattern and hand-finished embroidery. Now, if only I had any of the skills and/or time and/or patience required to replicate it. (Surely there’s an alternative reality in which I own a sewing machine and possess craftiness.)

8 Responses to “And on another note: feminista stylin’”

  1. servetus Says:

    You could buy a nice linen dress and stamp it yourself. Do you know how to embroider? If not, I would embroider it for you.

    • Didion Says:

      Really?! You mean this dress is actually within my reach for a minimum of effort? I may take you up on this.

      • servetus Says:

        I don’t know about the stamping, I’ve never tried that, but you should be able to find a decent quality linen shift without making one yourself (actually, buy a blend, then you won’t have to iron it so aggressively). You’d have to research the stamping part, but the embroidery is pretty easy and I’d be happy to do it for you.

  2. servetus Says:

    semi-homemade is the Servetus family motto 🙂

    • Didion Says:

      I am so all over this. And it gives me a reason to scour the consignment clothing store the next time I’m there.


  3. Great idea. In looking for a dress you want to make sure fabric will be stamp-friendly, washable.

    Rubber stamps are an incredible art form. I was introduced to them in Baltimore 1990 by a woman with company named Mars Tokyo. She designed NO WAR stamps that we turned into a mini-movement during the first Gulf War. Handed out thousands small patches with little pins, made of torn up white sheets by people who came to our “stamp-ins.”

    What I Learned…you want a stamp made of rubber. You will need rubber stamp ink for textiles. Here’s a tutorial http://www.joggles.com/fabric-stamping-tutorial.htm. Imagining you have a DIY/crafty community in your town around the university who’d talk with you about this.

    What about image of a woman rather than the symbol? Just thinkin…

  4. Didion Says:

    Even better! I’d been wondering whether I still owned the tools for carving linoleum blocks (unlikely) but rubber seems much more fun to work with, requiring less hand strain. I am so going to do this.

    I think I’m going to stick with the woman symbol. Who knows? Maybe it’s the symbol we need to make feminism cool again with those young folk!

    • servetus Says:

      lol, linoleum block carving. I had those too — those little scoops that attached to the handle for an Exacto knife … what nostalgia.


Leave a Reply

