Feminist blogger now finds satire about GOP indistinguishable from truth

21 April 2012

I thought that Ann Romney story was too good to be true. I even said to Aldine as we were madly rushing to get out of our hotel room and I was posting the story, “It’s too good to be true.”

But then, I also thought Rick Santorum’s “man on dog” line was incredible. Also, remember that Herman Cain is gone but not forgotten — to me, at least.

Anyway, my apologies for being so gullible — I was waaaayyyyyy too hasty in posting it. [Cringes at own incredulity.]

9 Responses to “Feminist blogger now finds satire about GOP indistinguishable from truth”

  1. servetus Says:

    it was so horrifying that it was completely understandable.

    • Didion Says:

      You’re too kind. I’m really rather mortified. I knew it was a bad idea to try to comment on politics when I was distracted by traveling, etc.

      One thing that IS true is that so far, Mitt Romney has no comment about whether he supports the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act. But I was sloppy in being too quick to believe that his wife would believe such retrograde ideas.

  2. Becky Says:

    Initially, I thought it was true as well. No criticism to Mormonism, but the women are taught to be subservient to their men, and I am sure this is incredibly close to the truth. The only thing that tipped me off is that Mitt’s handlers probably wouldn’t let her say it out loud! You are not gullible, just channeling the truth about their philosophy!

    • Didion Says:

      Becky, you’re really too kind. I really have no defense for this, although I will say that many of my Facebook friends were fooled, too. But it’s also true that the best satire is only one big step away from the truth…and can’t we all imagine a “Moms for Mitt” rally taking place at which such things are said? (Still: I cringe.)

  3. JE Says:

    A lot of the statements in the quote are very close to actual truth.

    “Men have been in the working world a lot longer and deserve to be paid at a higher rate.” — That’s very close to what that asshole Grothman in Wisconsin said about the reasons for pay inequality: “You could argue that money is more important for men. I think a guy in their first job, maybe because they expect to be a breadwinner someday, may be a little more money-conscious.” He went on to say that men keep working while women take a few years off for kids, then get paid less when they return.

    “I’m a working mom.” Yeah, we all know stay-at-home moms work hard. Duh. But then there’s working moms who do all that work at home and then go to a job, you know, “work” for “money” so they can “feed their kids” and “pay the bills.”

    “if a woman does work, she should be happy just to be out there in the working world” — Very close to what Mitt Romney said in January about forcing poor mothers on welfare to work more: “I want the individuals to have the dignity of work.” Because “work” isn’t about “earning money,” it’s about dignity according to real-Mitt, or as fake-Ann says, being happy out in the working world.

    That’s why the fake quote works so well. Most of it is real, it just wasn’t actually said.

    • Didion Says:

      You’re being very generous, JE (as is your wont), but in my eagerness to retain serious distinctions between myself and Andrew Breitbart, I must still register my embarrassment. And my kudos to the writers at Free Wood Post for nailing it so effectively that I feel like one of those people who watches Stephen Colbert and believes he’s really a conservative.


  4. Women apologize too much. Rather, women of conscience do that. When I read the “offending” post, first thought, “No holds barred with the right.” Old enough to have been alive and aware in the 1950s, I feel an inexorable pull backwards.

    • Didion Says:

      Gawd, you’re right. I’ll never forget arguing with one of my teaching assistants who seemed to apologize for everything. I told her to stop it. She apologized for apologizing so much.

      • Becky Says:

        She’s right, so right! Stop apologizing! Women don’t have to be more perfect than human, and all humans are occasionally taken in by innumerable things.


Leave a Reply

