What Disney princesses tell us

27 October 2011

This is lifted from George Takei’s watchable Facebook page. Fantastic.

2 Responses to “What Disney princesses tell us”

  1. Gratiana Says:

    Hi Didion,

    Nice to meet you. As a new subscriber to your blog, I’m enjoying perusing your resources.

    Love your post today. It reminded me of on of our professors on our campus who does groundbreaking work in sexism in children’s literature–Dr. Roberta Seelinger Trites (http://english.illinoisstate.edu/seeling/index.htm).

    Dr. Trites gave an amazing College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Lecturer presentation with graphics and movie clips titled:

    Trites, R.S. “The Pixar Maturity Formula: Sexism, Growth, and Social Responsibility in Children’s Movies.” Illinois State University, October 21, 2010.

    You might know her from one of her books:

    Trites, R.S. Waking Sleeping Beauty: Feminist Voices in Children’s Novels. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1997. 
    • Chinese translation, 2010.  Trans. LI Li. Hefei: Anhui Publishing, 2010.
• Japanese translation. Trans. YOSHIDA Junko. Kyoto: Aunsha, 2002.
• Winner of the American Library Association’s Choice Award, 1997.

    Cheers! Grati ;->

    P.S. Years ago, when my niece was a little girl, I showed her my new Disney screen saver on my Apple II. She asked “where are all the girls?” Because at that point, Minnie Mouse and Daisy Duck were it. Yet, there was a plethora of male characters. But, some of the messages about women that these new women characters might put forth are not necessarily the ones we want our young women to receive. Sighhhhh!

    • Didion Says:

      Oooh! I do not know of Roberta Seelinger Trites! and I loove, lurve, these kinds of analyses. Not doing anything remotely related to this academic field myself makes me all the more appreciative of this kind of analysis by others — and I read it not as a professional, but as a fan of film/pop culture. And I can likely get Prof. Trites’ book from the library.

      Your story about your niece reminds me of one time when I was babysitting a feisty 10-yr-old girl. We read Lloyd Alexander’s The Book of Three, which has a boy protagonist and a very feisty/ chatty female sidekick, and I asked her who she’d like to be if she could play in the movie version. She said, “Definitely Taran [the boy], but also Eilonwy [the girl]. I want to be both.” But then I made her agree that the book should have been written from Eilonwy’s perspective rather than Taran, and she was convinced that would’ve been superior.


Leave a Reply

