Deneuve and Depardieu

8 September 2011

Gérard Depardieu and Catherine Deneuve in The Last Métro (1980):

Who wouldn’t put this film on their short list? But I’m feeling especially in the mood for D&D after learning that soon I’ll have the chance to see their new film, Potiche (2010), despite the fact that I’m not exactly living in the middle of a foreign/independent film oasis. I find it very touching to see how they’ve changed in the intervening 30 years:

…not that their aging selves make them any less delicious. (In fact, can I say that I find Deneuve even more appealing in her 68-year-old body? I especially love to watch her smoke cigarettes now.)

Apologies for the long silences, friends — let’s chalk it up to 1) having intermittent internet access, 2) having three half-written pieces, and 3) being absorbed by the US Open tennis, which has absorbed an inordinate amount of my time and attention.

Leave a Reply

