The Onion for Friday

18 February 2011

It’s been a long, busy, hellish week — a week so busy that I’m now focused on having a cocktail with my Dear Friend and then collapsing on the sofa. Thus I thought I’d offer my gentle readers the two stories from The Onion that I’ve been giggling over.

First is no story at all, but a thumbnail image that appeared in the paper copy a few weeks ago. Let’s just confess right now that this captures my punchy attitude better than anything.

And second is this wonderful story (click for continuation of text) that captures perfectly how I feel any time I talk about a subject like slavery or the Civil Rights era or US intervention in Latin America in my classes:  my students look at me blankly and say, essentially, why did people used to be such boneheads?

One Response to “The Onion for Friday”

  1. Hattie Says:

    Too funny. We need a laugh right now, for sure. But hey, Hawaii has gotten around to legalizing civil unions, so that is a start.


Leave a Reply

