The great desk unraveling

14 January 2011

Syllabus preparation for the new semester is now in full panic mode.  It begins with frantic, easily distracted fumbling with books and xeroxes on a crowded desk; shifts to self-recrimination and urgent need for snacks; and is now mired in the search for the guilty.  So this is a just a placeholder noting that you should all see The King’s Speech (2010) and that once I finally get that copy of The Wrestler (2009) I intend to finish my paean to Marisa Tomei.  In the meantime, I return to my unholy alchemy using all those books, the calendar, assignment idea fragments, a crazy file full of clippings and confusing notes to myself, and a Word document open on my laptop — somehow, surely, this will all magically transform into class gold.

One Response to “The great desk unraveling”

  1. jmmnewaov2 Says:

    Desk Set – neat reference – it was about efficiency. But of course efficiency’s naughty step-child is a cluttered desk.

    Bunny Watson (Hepburn): I don’t smoke, I only drink champagne when I’m lucky enough to get it, my hair is naturally natural, I live alone… and so do you.
    Richard Sumner (Spencer Tracy): How do you know that?
    Bunny Watson: Because you’re wearing one brown sock and one black sock.

    jmm


Leave a Reply

