Lena Horne sings Stormy Weather

7 January 2011

From the 1943 film of the same name, inspired as I get ready to attend a women’s breakfast (see here for a cranky rant by me and others about the pattern of women’s breakfasts at professional meetings).  Oh Lena, how do you look so good if it keeps rainin’ all the time?  Note:  I do love those carefully constructed 1940s hairdos, but I’m so glad I don’t have to construct one on my own head before I leave my hotel room.

2 Responses to “Lena Horne sings Stormy Weather”

  1. J Says:

    You need a Cinna to make you a girl on fire. Or maybe not, considering how that turned out for Cinna.

    Did you bring a bow?

    • didion Says:

      Turns out it’s very hard to get bows on planes these days so I had to settle for my nail clippers, which have little effect on crowds. Academics have very few skills and/or superhero accoutrements. Here is a list of mine: suit of armor, glasses of strength, mouth.


Leave a Reply

