For a few dollars more (plus Brittney Griner)

25 March 2012

Gentle readers:

There are a few foods that are so perfect as to rank in the “cures all ills” category, and oysters are one of them. Best served with beer and one’s excellent old college friend whose conversation sparkles, along with her fabulous new specs. I am looking into how much more income I will need to eat these every day. Will report back.

Also, thanks to Sociological Images:

In other news: The Hunger Games made $68.3 million on opening day, a new record for a non-sequel, and the fifth highest opening-day box office of all time in the US. Still waiting to hear, obviously, how it does on opening weekend — but this is all good for pushing harder for films with female leads, as I rant about all the time. Stay tuned for my “conversation” with blogger JustMeMike about the film, due to get posted Tuesday (or very late Monday).

And in still other Excellent Ladies news, I hope you’re all following the Brittney Griner news, because I sure am. The Baylor University women’s basketball team — featuring the amazing 6’8″ Griner, who dunks and shoots and blocks alongside her amazing teammates — is rolling ahead in the NCAA tournament with stunning (and what look like easy) wins. They’re now in the Elite Eight and will play Tennessee on Monday night. The fact that I featured a few stories about Griner during her freshman and sophomore seasons means that my blog has had record numbers of hits for the past few weeks. It’s going to be very sad when the tournament’s over and my stats go back down to normal.

In case you’re wondering: yes, all the web searches that lead people to my site still sound like “brittney griner a man?” “brittney griner xxy” or “brittney griner in a dress.” Whatevs — I’ve said my piece about that bullshit.

And finally, I’m off to NYC for an extended research trip and complete immersion into NY film life. Judging by the listings in Time Out, I’m so overwhelmed by possibilities that I’m not sure where to start; the real question becomes, is it actually possible to see more than one film a day? More soon when I get settled into my borrowed apartment, locate a decent bagel and the blackest espresso known to man, and decide which one of the IFC Center’s t-shirts to buy — those t-shirts, that is, which use 1970s metal band imagery to decorate classic directors’ names:

8 Responses to “For a few dollars more (plus Brittney Griner)”

  1. servetus Says:

    beer: it IS lovely.

  2. JustMeMike Says:

    Have a great stay in NYC . Do one film in the morning or early afternoon. And another in the evening. Call it research. Which I’m sure when you work, you do mostly sitting down. So going to the movies twice a day won’t be any different physically than working. Have fun.

    jmm

    • Didion Says:

      You are a very dangerous friend to have. Just like my shopping partner of yesterday afternoon whose advice was essentially, “Why stop at only TWO pairs of those awesome, expensive shoes?”

      After all, this is supposed to be a true research trip for academic purposes that do not involve film at all… which reminds me to ask myself: why am I NOT doing academic work on film?

  3. Sally Says:

    I, too, am waiting to see how Hunger Games is going to push some boundaries.

    By the way, you may want to get some running in if you’re going to be watching 2 films a day. I’m jus’ sayin'; not that I know you at all. ;)

  4. Hattie Says:

    Have you seen Will Ferrell’s Old Milwaukee beer ads? I dd not know what he was satirizing until I saw a ridiculous Coors commercial with a can of beer being shot into space.
    I hope you are having a wonderful time and await your reports on the latest in film.

  5. Costanza Says:

    >Brittney Griner
    >Amazing

    She’s really god damn tall with an Anthony Davis like wingspan and that’s it. She’s not much of an athlete. She has a 15 inch vertical.

    A 15. Inch. Vertical.

    She can barely run the court. No athleticism at all. No strength. Doesn’t move off the ball. She just muscles the other women around with what little superior strength she has. For comparison’s sake, Anthony Davis has a 40 inch vertical.

    • kingmaniii Says:

      “She’s really god damn tall with an Anthony Davis like wingspan and that’s it. She’s not much of an athlete. She has a 15 inch vertical.

      A 15. Inch. Vertical. ”

      Brittney Griner’s vertical was measured at 28″ as a freshman at Baylor.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

